Canadian Screen Awards – Complete List Of Winners

War Witch was the big winner last night at the first ever Canadian Screen Awards, winning 10 trophies, including Best Motion Picture and Achievement in Direction for Montreal filmmaker Kim Nguyen. Real Style was there on the red carpet and backstage to interview the nominees, presenters and winners. “I’d like to dedicate this to the women in the Congo, their strength, their courage and their resilience,” said Nguyen when accepting his awards for best director. It was an amazing night for both Canadian film and television. We were thrilled to be proud media sponsors of the event and to catch up with some of our favourite Canadian stars, such as George Stroumboulopoulus, James Cromwell, Wendy Crewson, Laura Vandervoort, and more. Check out some of our behind the scenes footage here: Real Style Takes You Backstage At The Canadian Screen Awards.

Related Link: Kristin Lehman’s Gold Leaf Nails At The Canadian Screen Awards

Congratulations to all the Canadian Screen Award winners. Here’s a complete list of the CSA winners:

Film categories:

Best Motion Picture: War Witch.
Achievement in Direction: Kim Nguyen, War Witch.
Actor in a Leading Role: James Cromwell, Still Mine.
Actress in a Leading Role: Rachel Mwanza, War Witch.
Actor in a Supporting Role: Serge Kanyinda, War Witch.
Actress in a Supporting Role: Seema Biswas, Midnight’s Children.
Art Direction/Production Design: War Witch.
Make-Up: Laurence Anyways.
Costume Design: Laurence Anyways.
Cinematography: War Witch.
Editing: War Witch.
Music – Original Score: Howard Shore, Cosmopolis.
Music – Original Song: Howard Shore, Emily Haines, James Shaw, Long to Live (Cosmopolis)
Overall Sound: War Witch.
Sound Editing: War Witch.
Original Screenplay: Kim Nguyen, War Witch.
Adapted Screenplay: Salman Rushdie, Midnight’s Children.
Feature Length Documentary Award: Stories We Tell.
Short Documentary: The Boxing Girls of Kabul.
Live Action Short Drama: Throat Song.
Animated Short: Paula.
Visual Effects: Resident Evil: Retribution.

Television categories:

Dramatic Series: Flashpoint.
Comedy Program/Series: Less Than Kind.
International Drama: The Borgias.
Lead Actor in a Dramatic Role: Enrico Colantoni, Flashpoint.
Lead Actress in a Dramatic Role: Meg Tilly, Bomb Girls.
Lead Actor in a Comedic Role: Gerry Dee, Mr. D.
Lead Actress in a Comedic Role: Wendel Meldrum, Less Than Kind.
Reality/Competition Program: Dragon’s Den.
News Anchor: Peter Mansbridge, CBC News The National.
Sports Host or Analyst: Brian Williams, London 2012 Olympic Games.
Host in a Variety, Lifestyle, Reality/Competition, Performing Arts or Talk Program: George Stroumboulopoulos, George Stroumboulopoulos Tonight.
Previously announced awards:
Claude Jutra Award for Best First Feature Film: Jason Buxton, Blackbird.
Cineplex Golden Reel Award: Resident Evil: Retribution
Academy Special Film Award: Victor Loewy, former head of Alliance and Vivafilm.

Free to join! Get the hottest fashion, beauty and celebrity news, enter exclusive subscriber giveaways and be the first to receive the full digital version of REAL STYLE magazine every month.