Real Style Network

Polaris Music Prize Announces Short List

The Polaris Music Prize, which honours creativity in Canadian music, announced the short list today for their 2013 prize. A wide range of Canadian music is present on the list as nominees span all genres.

The nominees are: Godspeed You! Black Emperor for “Allelujah! Don’t Bend! Ascend!”, Zaki Ibrahim for “Every Opposite”, Metric for “Synthetica”, METZ for their self-titled album, Purity Ring for “Shrines”, Colin Stetson’s “New History Warfare Vol. 3: To See More Light”, the popular Tegan and Sara for “Heartthrob”, A Tribe Called Red’s “Nation II Nation”, Whitehorse for “The Fate of the World Depends on This Kiss” and Young Galaxy’s “Ultramarine”.

Related: Celebrate Canadian Music With These Songs About Canada

The winner of the Polaris Music Prize will be awarded $30,000 and voted on by music journalists from across Canada. Past winners have included Feist and Grammy winners Arcade Fire.

The Polaris gala will be held on September 23rd in Toronto and tickets are available for $50.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
This entry was posted in Daily News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.